Testing, Testing, 1 2 3…

  So here I am,  nervously dipping my toe into the blogosphere, hoping at least one person (Mom?) will be interested in what I have to say. I, for one, am excited to say it! Mostly because around here, I don’t get a word in edgewise. This is my outlet to the outside world. You (Mom? Dad?) are the only listeners, the privileged few who will be allowed into the inner sanctum of my thoughts. Good luck.

   So, for those of you who don’t know me well (Stranger Who my mom is Telling About my Blog Because she Thinks I’m Finally Published and She’s SOOO Proud?), let me introduce myself. I am a stay-at-home mother of seven, and I also have two stepsons. For those of you who suffer from my same math deficiency, I used my fingers, and that’s nine. I feel that my life is fairly boring, but to some demented people I know, it sounds exciting. So I have decided to share it in hopes of entertaining those with a less exciting lives. You know, those who find enjoyment in silly things like going out to eat without having food rubbed in their hair, seeing a movie without having to answer a question every 10 seconds (“What’s he gonna do?” “I dunno. We have to watch.” “What’s he gonna do?” “I dunno. Watch.” “What’s he gonna-” “JUST WATCH THE MOVIE!!!!”), or peeing without enemy spies watching and questioning your bodily functions.

   In the future, I will be telling you all about my crazy existence in a house full of ordered chaos, complaining about various pitfalls of the job, ranting about random old ladies who give me advice on childrearing, and hopefully making you laugh, or even occasionally think deep thoughts. We’ll see. In the meantime, thanks for reading (Mom), and I hope you continue to hang on my every word! 

  

About Anna Helfey

I am a stay-at-home mom of seven, and, despite what that implies, I seldom really know what I am doing. Don't tell my kids that, though. They're under the impression that I've got it under control.

6 responses to “Testing, Testing, 1 2 3…

  1. Kim

    Hey, just saying that someone shared your article about public feeding on their Facebook page and I read it and then kept reading your other posts and I’m excited to read more, though I sometimes stink at actually typing in a comment… So even if I don’t leave a comment, I’m still probably checking in every once in a while and reading whatever new post you’ve got. I just graduated with a degree in elementary and special education and while I don’t have any kids, I work with kids A LOT, from infants all the way up to upper elementary so I’ve certainly got stories!

  2. Oh my goodness…. you remind of why I started writing. I love the humor or your blog and the seriousness of others. Good luck in your efforts!

  3. Carysa

    I just found your blog. That’s exactly what I needed! You are so funny and I need to laugh more with the stresses of having 3 very little ones. Thanks!

  4. I also found your blog through someone sharing the ‘feeding in public’ post and went on to read the rest….another ‘stranger’ reading about your ‘boring’ life. :) I enjoy your humor and the depth of thought and character beneath it! I’ll certainly be back – often!

    As a mother of 10 (5 biological and 5 in-law children) and grandmother of (almost) 13, I enjoy reading about your wonderful children. I especially enjoyed your post about ‘So many times’ – it is so true…..the time is short with little ones. I relayed this post to my DIL yesterday, when she commented on how often she plays the same game with her 17 month old baby boy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 292 other followers

